Cool card for a cool day

Hello again,

I am so grateful to my minis that they allowed me yesterday to finish my penguin card. I wanted to use the Birthday Waddles stamps and dies since I got it few weeks ago from Your Next Stamp. Finally I had the chance, here is my card.

20160409_164021-1

I made a balloon stenciled background a while ago with distress inks (cracked pistachio and pine needles if I remember well), which was perfect for this card. I die cut a stitched oval in the middle, popped it up with foam tape and placed an embossed vellum in the cut out place to add some texture. I coloured my penguin and balloons with Shinhan alcohol markers and die cut them with the coordinating dies. I also die cut white fun foam with the penguin die and glued my image on top, to support my image when adding to the vellum. I love the look and in this way I don’t have to be afraid that the balloon string would bend or get torn. If I had time I would have done the same with the other 2 balloons too, but for this card I just glued them on the balloony frame. I stamped the sentiment from the same stamp set on an orangish stitched fishtail banner and I die cut an extra from yellow cardstock too. My card base today is dark green to match the balloon background.

20160409_163944

Here is a close up on the shine on the balloons, which I got using glossy accents and clear wink of stella.

20160409_163934

I would like to enter this card in 2 challenges:

1/ YNS sketch challenge #36

YNSSketch36

 

2/ SSS Wednesday Challenge

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

Simon Wendesday Challenge

I hope you like my card and I will see you soon again for another card project.

Hugs,

Zsofi

 

6 thoughts on “Cool card for a cool day

  1. Awww…what a cutie! Looks great with the glossy accents throughout. Clean and fun. So glad you found time to play along at YNS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

