Masked birthday card with Penny Black stamps

Happy Monday,

Today I am popping in with a very quick post. I made this card for a little girl who lives in Finland, so it will have a long journey. Not to get ruined in the mail, I tried to keep it simple.

20160407_170225 (2)

I used a stamp set from Penny Black to stamp the dog and duckie with the balloons on white cardstock which I previously die cut with SSS Stitched rectangles die. Then I coloured the images with alcohol markers and masked them. I die cut some clouds from masking paper with a Penny Black clouds die, placed them on my scene and sponged the background with Tumbled glass distress ink. I die cut 2 cloudy borders, one white and one vellum, layered them and glued them to my scene. I stamped my sentiments from some other stamp sets on the white layer with Lawn Fawn lobster ink and SSS Intense Black ink. By the way I use the latter to stamp my images too, it is alcohol marker friendly.

20160407_170045 (2)

As a final touch – as always – I added some shimmer and glossy accents to the balloons and some of the details of the images, black gel pen for the eyes and some PPP Clear sequins. I also went over the “Hooray” with a red Sakura glitter pen.

20160407_170147

I usually don’t, but this time I dressed up the card from inside too: another puppy pic and a SSS sentiment stamped in teal made a real difference.

20160407_170311 (2)

I hope you like it and the recipient will also.

This card I am entering the SSS Happy Birthday Wednesday Challenge, it is my 3rd entry.

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

SSS Wednesday Challenge

Hugs,

Zsofi

4 thoughts on “Masked birthday card with Penny Black stamps

  1. The little 4 year old recipient just loved her birthday card. She is a very visual and sensory person and immediately noticed and admired all the detail on the card. The balloons really came alive and delivery of this wonderful present from Budapest to Helsinki was received with a big happy smile. Thank you for this exceptional card. I will have to mount it to a frame soon.

    Like

  2. Zsofi, your card is fantastic, inside and out! I love all the masking you’ve done to create your wonderful scene. The sky looks fabulous! And those critters are simply darling as they float through the sky!

    Thank you for popping by my blog and leaving me such kind words – all the way from Hungary!! I now send you my greetings back from Canada.

    Like

Leave a Reply

