Butterfly simpathy cards

Hello,

Today’s post is a sad topic, unfortunately a relative of my mum passed away and I had to make a sympathy card. I made it only once before, thanks God I am not experienced in this. All I knew is that I wanted butterflies on my cards (I made one in Hungarian and one in English, so she can choose the best for the recipient).

simpathy card collage

The Painted Butterflies set from Altenew is my all time favourite, I love how delicate and soft the images are.

20160723_170311 wm

For my first cardΒ I used only the outline image, stamped it on a die cut panel leaving space for the sentiment, which is from Clearly Besotted. I coloured with grey Shinhan markers to get a monochrome look. The splatters I added with an MFT stamp, I am a control freak πŸ˜€

20160723_170250 wm

A bit of Wink of Stella clear shimmer, a black glitter pen, few silver glitter enamel dots and a thin silk ribbon piece on 2 corners were all the embellishment I added. I mounted this on a slightly bigger black cardstock to get a thin black frame. My card base is black this time, with a beautiful glitter paper from DCVW.

20160723_170225 wm

The second card was heavily inspired by Amanda Korotkova (this card), I stamped my butterflies on a cross-stitched die cut Bristol Smooth cardstock piece using Archival Jet Black ink, so I could colour with my Zig Real Brush pens.

20160723_170416 wm

20160723_170427 wm

The same embellishments as above, just this time I directly mounted this on a black card base. The sentiment I printed from a simple word document and mounted with 3D foam tape.

20160723_170437 wm

That is all for now, but I will come back with a more cheerful post soon with the same butterflies.

Have a lovely weekend,

Zsofi

PS: I just saw that this card would match the SSS Wednesday Challenge Things with Wings, so I am uploading it here.

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

One thought on “Butterfly simpathy cards

Leave a Reply

