Santa is coming

Hello Everyone,

Today is my last chance to post something for the MFT Card Design Superstar contest. I had so many ideas but ran out of time and as we can upload only 3 cards anyways, I chose a winter theme for my last one.

20160921_153706-wm

This card had many layers and involved a lot of die cutting, but I love the shadow box type result.

20160921_154004-wm

First I die cut the dotted rectangle frame die 4 times from heavy weight white cardstock and once from a pretty silver metallic one. I also die cut both tree lines borders from watercolour cardstock. I needed 2 pieces of acetate and a piece of light blue cardstock for the background. I added different shades of distress inks to the trees using post it notes to mask off the snowy hills.

20160921_154013-wm

I stamped, coloured with Shinhan alcohol markers and die cut the santa and reindeer from an older Birdie Brown stamp set and the package from the Elves one. I added some details with a glaze pen, a gold gel pen, some clear shimmer and glossy accents. I also stamped the Confetti BG stamp with white stazon ink on both acetate pieces making sure that they are not identical, so when I layer them on top of each other, the snowflakes don’t cover each other. The greeting I stamped on a banner die cut from light blue cardstock with a die from the Blueprints 25 set.

20160921_153837-wm

For the frame I chose a red dotted patterned paper from Doodlebug, and started layering: blue background piece + tree line border + frame + acetate + frame + tree line border with the images glued on + 2x frame + acetate + silver frame. The sentiment I simply glued on the front.

I hope you like my card and will return soon.

See you,

Zsofi

Print

Leave a Reply

