Faux snow effect with embossing

Hello,

Today I brought you a card which looks simple but it has a trick to give it the wow effect.

20161010_150238-wm

I used the below sketch from MFT:

I knew I wanted to use the pierced snowflake from MFT cut from silver glitter cardstock (DCWV), so I looked for 2 circle dies which could give me the right sized ring if I cut them together. I taped the dies temporarily with micropore tape to be able to cut few rings. On one of them I used Versamark ink and covered it with WOW White puff embossing powder and heat set it. It gave a gorgeous snow effect. Then I glued my snow ring on top of the other ring for dimension.

20161010_150331-wm

I made a card base from Bristol Smooth cardstock and masked off a stripe with masking tape. I blended Mermaid Lagoon and Blueprint Sketch distress inks, and added some dots with the same inks through the Myriad dots stencil for added texture.

20161010_150305-wm

The sentiment if from the Jingle all the way MFT set, stamped with Blue Violet ink (SSS) to match my ink blended background. As a final touch I added a white glitter enamel dot from Doodlebug in the middle of my snowflake.

20161010_150259-wm

I hope you like it and got inspired.

I am uploading this card to the MFT Sketch Challenge #301.

See you soon,

Zsofi

Leave a Reply

