Special Birthday card #1

Hello,

I have made to my lovely sister-in-law 2 cards for her birthday, which we celebrated on Sunday. She got one from my parents and the other one from us, to match our presents. Here is the one from mum and dad, the present was the new Harry Potter book.

20161030_093827-wm

First I stamped the cute girl with the kitties image (Newton’s Nook) on white cardstock, on brown and orange plaid patterned paper (Lawn Fawn), coloured them and fussy cut the different pieces to paper piece my image. It took a while, but I really enjoyed layering them for a more dimensional look. I added clear shimmer (Spectrum Noir) and some glossy accent.

20161030_093855-wm

I took a piece of teal patterned paper for the background, stamped and white heat embossed my sentiment on it (Altenew) and glued the paper pieced scene on it.

20161030_093905-wm

Before adhering it all on a white card base I added a stitched scalloped edge from bronze cardstock and a thin stitched strip (both are done with Lawn Fawn dies) from teal glitter cardstock for extra embellishment.

20161030_093939-wm

As the gift was a book, I made a bookmark also using another Newton’s Nook set, coloured the image and fussy cut it out.

20161030_093946-wm

The base is made using an Avery Elle die, cut 3 times (white cardstock, orange and brown patterned paper) and glued together. I stamped the sentiment in black under the image. On the back side I die cut my sister-in-law’s name from glitter cardstock using Lawn Fawn’s Cole ABC and little orange plaid heart with a glossy coat on it. I added some twine and a teal tassel at the end.

20161030_094007-wm

I hope you like it.

I will play along with 2 challenges: Newton’s Nook Inky Paws #37 Cozy Plaid and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Anything goes.

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

See you soon for another fun birthday card.

Zsofi

 

 

One thought on “Special Birthday card #1

  1. Wow! This is so gorgeous! I really love the colors you used on these projects! The paper pierced blanket is so pretty and the added sparkle on the kitty and books is so pretty! Thank you for playing along with our Inky Paws Challenge!

    -Jen {Newton’s Nook Designs}

    Like

Leave a Reply

