Valentine’s Day Card with critters

Hello Everyone,

As Valentine’s Day is in a week, I wanted to make a cute one for my husband (although we don’t celebrate 14th Feb, rather we make little things for each other on a regular bases). I used the almost closing MFT sketch #318:

Here is my card:

20170207_171849-wm

I started with embossing the wave background on Bristol smooth cardstock with clear sparkle embossing powder (Judikins). Then I used my Zig Clean Color Real rush markers to scribble some waves and used a wet baby wipe to blend them into each other. I love this technique, so easy yet stunning effect. Then I cut 1/4 inch from both longer sides and added a strip of black cardstock under it. I mounted this on a white top folding card base, on which I glued a strip of cornflower blue glitter paper (MFT).

20170207_171943-wm

I stamped and white embossed the sentiment from the cute Otterly love you set on a scrap piece of black cardstock and cut it with a stitched banner die (MFT).

20170207_171918-wm

I also stamped an otter, the stones and 3 little fish in black ink on Copic friendly cardstock and coloured quickly with Shinhan markers. I used the coordinating dies to cut the images and mounted them on the background with 3D foam tape along with the banner. A little Spectrum Noir shimmer pen for some sparkle and glossy accent on the heart, plus I used Ranger black enamel accent on the nose of the otter and a black glaze pen on the eyes.

20170207_171952-wm

I wish you like this rather simple card, my daughter immediately ordered one for herself also 😉

I will submit this to the MFT Sketch Challenge #318, to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Young at heart and Wednesday Challenge The Colour of love.

6ce88-57d998dc1d16d114190879-11

See you soon with another project,

Zsofi

 

3 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Card with critters

  1. So cute – love this design and your choice of colours. Great take on this week’s theme.
    Thanks so much for playing along this week at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

    Like

  2. Your card is “otterly” cute Zsofi! Love how you’ve created the wave background, and this is such a sweet valentine! Thanks for sharing the love with us this week at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge! Maura xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

