Mermaid wishes – watercolour card

Hello everyone,

Every year My Favourite Things is organising Camp Create, which is like an online crafty camp: every day there is a different task to fulfil to earn that day’s badge. I love the intensity of it as it gives me an excuse to make a card every day, yay!

The task for Day 1 in Camp Create 2017 is Wonderful watercolour.

This is my card:

20170615_070843 wm

I started with a piece of Ranger watercolour paper and applied some blue and purple shades of Gansai Tambi watercolours on it randomly. I made is very thick, did not water it down too much, only to make the paint creamy. When a heavy coat was done, I took a piece of kitchen cling foil, crumpled it and placed it on top of the wet watercolour. I pressed it well into the paint and set it aside to dry for about an hour or so. Then I carefully removed the foil and I was left with this pretty marbled look. (The idea I got from Jennifer McGuire, here is a link to her technique video). I also added some Shimmer Spritz for a sparkly effect.

20170615_071014 wm

I trimmed the piece down to be 2 and 1/4 inch wide and added a silver mat to it. I adhered it to a textured white card base and stamped a sentiment from black under it (MFT More Essential sentiments). I also die cut the word Happy 3 times from silver cardstock and mounted them on each other to have more dimension. I used the Zig Quickie glue pen to adhere them together.

20170615_070921 wm

While my watercolour was drying I stamped and coloured the mermaid and turtle from the MFT Mermazing stamp set, and the little present from the Beast Friends stamp set. I used Copics/Shinhan markers to colour them in and the cut them out with the coordinating dies.

20170615_070905 wm

I adhered them flat to the watercolour panel, just used a tiny bit of thin foam tape under the tail of the mermaid as it was hanging off the raised panel. I used a Spectrum Noir shimmer pen and glossy accents to make it even more special. A few clear sparkling crystals from Studio Katia finished this card off.

20170615_070931 wm

I hope you like it and will return soon to see my Day 2 homework.

“Sea you soon”

Zsofi 

 

Leave a Reply

