Sending love with seagulls

Hello again,

It is my second post for today as I wanted to play along with the current MFT Sketch Challenge #342Β before it ends.

Sketch Challenge 342 #mftstamps

This is my take on the sketch:

20170724_191407 wm

I started with heat embossing the MFT Whimsical waves background stamp on Bristol Smooth cardstock using Versamark ink and Wow blue glitter embossing powder. I hand cut a piece of it and blended some Distress Oxide inks. Then I went over some of the waves wit the same inks, I smooched them on my craft mat and picked the ink up with my Spectrum Noir Shimmer pen. It made the waves more vibrant and shimmery.

20170724_191423 wm

For the sunray background I blended Squeezed lemonade distress ink on Bristol Smooth cardstock and temporarily adhered to it the Radiating Rays stencil. I added Mustard seed distress ink then shifted the stencil and applied Wild Honey distress ink. After removing the stencil I blended the edges once more with the Squeezed lemonade ink and filled the sun with Mustard seed ink. A bit of water splatters, dabbed them off with a paper towel and the background was ready.

20170724_191429 wm

I stamped and coloured the seagulls from the MFT Seaside seagulls set using Copic markers, die cut them with the coordinating dies. I added glossy accents to the beaks and googly eyes on some of them.

20170724_191454 wm

For the cloud I used a Lawn Fawn border die and the partial die cutting technique to get a similar shape than on the sketch. I also cut some stitched clouds (Lawn Fawn) as extra dimension. I stamped the sentiment from the MFT Mermazing set on the cloud border and assembled the card. A few mini heart confetti finished it off.

20170724_191532 wm

I hope you like this funny summer card and will return soon for more inspiration.

See you tomorrow for some pineapple fun πŸ˜‰

Zsofi

Leave a Reply

