Fly away with me

Happy Monday Everyone,

It is a new week starting which means it is time for my next inspiration card project for the current Inky Paws Challenge. This week we continue with the sketch challenge and one lucky winner can get a 20 USD gift certificate to the Newton’s Nook Designs online store. Let’s get started, shall we?

20170801_160256 wm

I have recently bought the new stencils from Newton’s Nook along with some new-to-me stamps/dies and I was itching to try them. For today’s card I made a masked background using painter’s tape and added Distress Oxide inks to the masked-around rectangles I created. I used the Waves stencil to add some more texture to each panel, I used the same inks for a tone-on-tone look.

20170801_160408 wm

I stamped and coloured the hot air balloon from the NND Newton Dreams of Paris set using Copic/Shinhan markers. I used the coordinating die to cut the image.

20170801_160326 wm

As I did not want to cover too much of the background I used a vellum tag (Studio Katia die, I just love this!). I stamped the sentiment from the NND Delightful Doxies stamp set on the bottom of this with StazOn black ink to avoid smearing.

20170801_160222 wm

Adhering vellum is always tricky, so I added Ranger Multi Matte Medium only on the back of the vellum where the image was covering the glue, not to show through. It makes the tag a bit floating, but it did not bother me. I think it adds to the airy feel of the design.  As a finishing touch I covered the entire balloon with Spectrum Noir Shimmer pen and glossy accent to the hearts and tail of the balloon.

20170801_160358 wm.jpg

I hope you got inspired and will play along this week’s challenge. The sketch is so fun!

3fb3f-ipc_52_july31

Thanks for your visit, come back soon for more inspiration.

See you,

Zsofi

 

One thought on “Fly away with me

  1. This is so beautiful! I love the way you used a bit of the stencil to create patterns in the background and that shimmer is SO pretty! Thank you for the Inky Paws challenge inspiration!

    -Jen {Newton’s Nook Designs}

    Like

Leave a Reply

