Splatter & stencil

Hello Everyone,

Today I wanted to share with you a fun technique using a stencil and one shade of distress ink (Blueprint Sketch). The card I made was inspired by the MFT Card Challenges: Sketch Challenge #344 and Colour Challenge 74#.

Sketch Challenge 344 #mftstamps

Here is my card:

20170807_184911 wm

I started with a piece of Bristol Smooth cardstock and applied the distress ink on it with a mini ink blending tool. Then I temporarily taped down the MFT One way chevron stencil and applied more ink from the same colour. Before removing the stencil I spritzed the panel with Tsukineko Shimmer Spritz. After letting it sit for a few minutes, I added white and black splatters with a paint brush.

20170808_072125 wm

I die cut a scalloped edged flag from the distressed piece of cardstock, I used some MFT border dies and partial die cutting to achieve this look. I also die cut a Happy sentiment from white pearlescent paper and 2 stitched strips from Greeneyed Monster glitter cardstock.

20170808_072119 wm

I stamped and coloured the cute hippos from the new Birdie Brown Happy Hippos stamp set and used the coordinating dies to cut them out. The colouring is done with Copics. A little bit of Spectrum Noir shimmer and glossy accents on the accessories made these images even more special. I also used a black glaze pen for the eyes of the hippos.

20170808_072158 wm

I heat embossed a sentiment from the Essential sentiments stamp set in white on a light grey cardstock and used 3D foam tape to mount the focal panel.

20170808_072144 wm

I will link this project up on the following challenges: MFT Sketch Challenge, MFT Colour Challenge, Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Happy Birthday and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Splatter it.

I hope you like my card and will return soon.

See you,

Zsofi

2 thoughts on “Splatter & stencil

  1. Adorable card, Zsofi, blues are my favorite and those cute hippos would make anyone smile! Thank you for sharing your work with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love this color palette, grey and blue, fabulous! the touch of glitter you add is perfect! Thanks for joining us this week on Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

