Recycling wrapping paper

Hello Everyone,

It is Monday again, unbelievable. The last one in the summer, and although I am not ready to let the vacation go, it is soon time to start the holiday cards. The new challenge (#54)  starting today at Inky Paws Challenges is Polka dots, such a great theme.

We recently got a present from a family friend from Germany and she used a gorgeous wrapping paper that I tried to save as much as I could from it. It is a bit thicker than the ones we have here in Hungary, perfect for recycling on a Christmas card. I cut a piece of it slightly smaller than an A2 sized card front, and adding a lot of double sided tape to the back of it I adhered it to a dark brown mat.

20170823_155334 wm

I stamped the kitty from the Ornamental Newton on Copic friendly paper, coloured him with Copics and used the coordinating die to cut it out. I also used the die to trace the outer edge of it on the same dark brown cardstock with a pencil and cut it with my scissors. I used a craft knife to cut the hole of the ornament and used Lawn Fawn twine to hang it from the top of my pretty wrapping paper background. I used Ranger Multi Matte medium to adhere the twine, this glue is super strong and dries matte fast. I also made a little bow and added to the top. I popped up the image with 3D foam tape for more dimension.

20170823_155400 wm

To make the ornament festive and match the background, I used Star Dust glitter pen from Sakura (it had a warm glittery look and more vivid than the Spectrum Noir shimmer pen) and trapped it under glossy accent. I was so happy how it turned out, it matched perfectly the tone of the wrapping paper.

20170823_155421 wm

The sentiment I gold heat embossed on a dark brown stitched banner, which I adhered with 3D foam tape too. A few iridescent sequins finished it off.

20170823_155410 wm

I hope you like my card and will try to recycle some of the gorgeous wrapping paper we all receive when getting presents. I am sure this was not the last card with this paper, I have a ton of it left and it is too pretty not to be used.

20170823_155450 wm

Newton

See you soon with another card project.

Have a lovely week,

Zsofi

 

 

 

One thought on “Recycling wrapping paper

  1. Beautiful card! I love the idea of recycling wrapping paper to make a background! So clever! Thank you for the Inky Paws challenge inspiration!
    -Jen {Newton’s Nook Designs}

    Like

Leave a Reply

