Holiday Card Series 2017 – #1

winter backdrop wm.jpg

Hello Everyone,

Hope you had a great weekend. Welcome to my Holiday Card Series 2017. It is Monday again, a new Inky Paws Challenge is starting today with beautiful Christmas colours which inspired my very first card in this series.

Image may contain: text

20171101_135612 wm

For my card today I knew I wanted a chalkboard effect. So I took a piece of black cardstock and die cut a stitched rectangle from it. I used a sponge dauber and dabbed some white pigment ink on the edges. I made sure it is dry before I stamped my sentiment and heat embossed in white.

20171101_135653 wm

I also stamped and coloured the kitty with a striped scarf from the Newton’s Holiday Mischief stamp set using Copic markers. I used the coordinating dies to cut it out. I die cut some pine tree branches (MFT die) from dark green and apple green cardstocks, and a bow (Studio Katia) from red glitter fun foam. I assembled my scene, gave the chalkboard panel a green mat and adhered it to a red-white striped patterned paper (Doodlebug design).

20171101_135629 wm

As a finishing touch I used a white gel pen to add some freckles to the kitty, some Spectrum Noir shimmer pen and glossy accents on the scarf.

20171101_135706 wm

I hope you like my card and got inspired to play along at the Inky Paws Challenge #59. You have 2 weeks to upload your project to be eligible to win a 20 USD gift certificate to the NND online store.

Newton

I will upload this card to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Calling all critters great and small

See you soon with more holiday cards and tags,

Zsofi

 

2 thoughts on “Holiday Card Series 2017 – #1

  1. Thanks for sharing your wonderful card with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge! It is wonderfully cheery and bright! The chalkboard look and your critter are awesome! Hugs, Maura

    Like

  2. This is so gorgeous! I love the chalkboard look and the beautiful way you used the colors! That glittery bow is so fabulous too! Thank you for the Inky Paws challenge inspiration!
    -Jen {Newton’s Nook Designs}

    Like

Leave a Reply

