Holiday Card Series 2017 – Colourful houses

White and blue snowflakes on a dark paper background.

Hello Everyone,

A quick post of a card I made last minute for the Lawnfawnatics Emboss Resist challenge.

20171217_143441 wm

I saw many beautiful cards from Laura Bassen and she loves to colour with distress inks. I wanted to try this technique, so I white heat embossed a lot of little houses from the Winter village stamp set (Lawn Fawn) on Bristol Smooth cardstock. I cut them apart and sponged different Distress Inks on them, then I used the coordinating dies to cut them out.

20171217_143504 wm

For the background I added water splatters to a Bristol Smooth cardstock and white heat embossed it. Then I sponged Distress inks on the whole panel and misted with Shimmer mist for a subtle sparkle. I also dabbed some of it with a paper towel for more texture.

20171217_143458 wm

I die cut 3 stitched hillside borders and stamped the greetings with colourful inks on the smallest one. I re-stamped the upper one with Versamark ink and added clear embossing powder to it. After heat setting it gives a lovely shiny look to the sentiment.

20171217_143519 wm

After assembling the card, I added some Spectrum Noir Shimmer pen to the roofs and went over the snow caps with a white acrylic marker. I also added some extra dots to the background with the same marker for more snow falling.

20171217_143540 wm

I will upload this card project to the following challenges:

I hope you like this very cheerful holiday card and will return soon for more inspiration.

See you soon,

Zsofi

 

5 thoughts on “Holiday Card Series 2017 – Colourful houses

  1. Oh wow, your card is absolutely gorgeous! I love how you added color to the white embossed houses, such a brilliant idea! Thank you for sharing with us at Lawn Fawnatics!

    Like

  2. This is stunning! Thanks for sharing your steps. I initially thought you’d used colored cardstock instead of using distress inks for the houses.

    Like

Leave a comment