Hug in a mug – Newton’s Nook Designs

Hello everyone,

Today is my turn on the Newton’s Nook Designs blog with this warm and wintery coffee card. In this chilly weather we are all longing for our favourite hot drinks and good talks. Now that we are all socially apart from our friends, it is so important to send a little love in other ways. That feeling inspired my card today.

I created a colourful background first on Bristol Smooth paper with the Mugs stencil: I used Distress Oxide inks with a small blending brush which allowed me to add colour to each mug individually. I used Blueprint Sketch, Wilted Violet, Picked Raspberry, Salty Ocean, Peacock Feathers with Cracked Pistachio. Before removing the stencil I carefully spritzed it with Tsukineko Shimmer Spritz and let it dry.

I cut it down with my favourite die from Frameworks and added some black and blue splatters. Then I cut my sentiment letters with the Essential Alphabet dies from coloured cardstock and adhered them on a piece of vellum. I adorned it with some pine leaves and a purple glittery bow (Pines and Holly die set).

After popping the panel up on a light grey cardstock I added glossy accents to some details on the mugs and also on the bow.

I hope it made your heart warm and I inspired you.

See you soon,

Zsofi

Leave a comment