Retirement Sale Project for Newton’s Nook Designs

Hello Everyone,

It is a bittersweet week at Newton’s Nook Designs as our wonderful team features retiting products for the next couple of days. I have some of my favourites on the list too, which is always sad, but it also means that some lovely new designs are coming soon! YAY! Just stay tuned!

Newton’s Nook Designs is having a retiring sale on their website. These designs are available at up to 40% off while supplies last so hurry to get your favorites before they’re gone for good! 

For my card today I used the beautiful Tropical Fish stencil and the Narly Mermaids stamp/die set. I stamped the images on alcohol ink friendly cardstock with black hybrid ink and coloured the images with Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers.

For the exact colours I made a little chart for you. I used the coordinating dies to cut everything out.

Then I worked on the background: on a piece of Bristol Smooth cardstock I ink blended Wilted Violet, Blueprint Sketch, Salty Ocean and Peacock Feathers Distress Oxide inks. I used a gentle hand and blending brushes for a subtle look. Then I sprinkled it with water, let it sit for 30 sec and dried it with a paper towel.

I secured the stencil with Pixie Spray on the inked background and used the same colours over it just with a heavier hand. Before Removing the stencil I added Moda Scrap Gloss Glitter gel with a Stencil Pal. It gives a wonderful raised and pearlescent look when it is dry! Gorgeous!

While the background was drying I cut a 1,75 * 4,25 inches white strip and stamped 2 sentiments in the middle.

I popped up the narwhal, the star and the mermaid with 3D foam squares and used extra dimension for the shell too. The little fish I adhered with a drop of liquid glue.

As a finishing touch I added glossy accents to the pearl and dot details and used a black glaze pen on the eyes.

I hope you enjoyed my card today. Make sure to check the NND blog daily for more fun projects from my teamies. And don’t forget, if you like any of the products on the retiring list, act fast as when they are gone, they are gone for good!

“Sea you soon”,

Zsofi

Leave a comment