Welcome to Hogwarts – Newton’s Nook Designs

Hello Everyone,

Did you see that Newton’s Nook Designs is having a retiring sale on their website? It’s time to make room for new products so they are retiring select designs! These designs are available at up to 40% off while supplies last so hurry to get your favorites before they’re gone for good! 

All week the NND Design Team will be sharing inspiration using some of their favorite products from our retiring list! Check out what I created today and don’t forget to check the NND Blog each day this week for more fun inspiration!

My daughter turned 11 a few weeks ago and she is totally fond of Harry Potter. The challenge was given, I had to make her an invitation card to Hogwarts for her birthday. The owl with the letter from the Love Owl-ways stamp set was just perfect for this! So I stamped and coloured it with Spectrum Noir Illustrator markers: EB7, EB5, EB4, EB3, EB2, EB1, TN1, TN05, OR1, OR05, DR3, BG2, BG05. I cut it out with the coordinating die.

Then I made an inkblended background using Blueprint Sketch and Salty Ocean Distress Oxide inks. I added some water droplets and diluted ink spatters and let the panel dry. I used a die from Frameworks to cut it out.

While I was die cutting I also cut the sentiment “welcome to Hogwarts” from white cardstock using the Essential Alphabet die set. Then I assembed the card, popped up the owl with 3D foam squares and it was time for the finishing touches: a drop of glossy accents on the beak and heart.

I wish you liked my card today and will pop in again soon. Don’t forget to visit the Retiring Products Category to see what is going away and grab your favorites before they are gone for good!

See you,

Zsofi

Leave a comment