Happy Bird-day – Newton’s Nook Designs

Hello Everyone,

I have a fun little shaped birthday card which I created with dies and stamps from Newton’s Nook Designs. It is perfect for summer birthdays.

First I die cut the scalloped heart from the Heart Frames die set using alcohol ink friendly cardstock and stamped the flamingos from the retiring Flirty flamingo stamp set in the middle. This stamp set is available only until stocks last and now it is only 5,99USD!

I used Spectrum Noir Triblend markers to colour the birds. The colours I used are the following:

  • flamingo: Magenta Blend
  • water: Blue Turquoise Blend and Blue Turquoise Shades
  • sky: Citrus Blend, Orange Blend, Bright Pink Shades, Pink Violet Blend, True Blue Shades, True Blue Blend

I used a colourless blender to help the colour transitions and make the lines smoother. When it was done I covered the water with Spectrum Noir Clear Shimmer pen and added some white gel pen highlights. I also stamped the birds on the sky with black ink.

I added a white heat embossed sentiment on a thin black strip to the bottom and adhered the scene on a pink stitched heart (Heart frames die set)

To make it a card, I die cut another pink heart, creased it quarter of an inch from the top and adhered that little flap to the bottom of the front heart. In this way I have enough space for a message. I finished it off with a drop of glossy accent on the beaks.

I hope you enjoyed my card today and will pop in tomorrow for some more fun!

See you,

Zsofi

Leave a comment