Trick or treat? – Newton’s Nook Designs

Hello Everyone,

I am back today with a fun slimline Halloween card created with older and new stamps and dies from Newton’s Nook Designs. Let me walk you through the process.

I started with a 4×8,5 inches piece of Bristol Smooth cardstock and using the Cloud stencil I applied Wilted Violet Distress Oxide ink. When I had the clouds done I went back without reinking my blending brush to make the stenciled edges smoother. I also used Black Soot Distress Oxide ink on the sides. I finished the background with purple, black and white splatters. I could not resist and added a few clear shimmer splatters too using Inkon3 Liquid Pixie Dust. I let it dry on its own.

Meanwhile I stamped and coloured Batty Newton and Halloween Trio using my Copic markers. I also added in a little ghost from Boo Hoo. I kept the colour palette simple. Then I die cut them all with their coordinating dies.

While I was die cutting I also cut a Fence from woodgrain cardstock and 2 black grass panels with a Land Border die. I made it more mysterious with blending the edges with white pigment ink.

I assembled the scene, white heat embossed a sentiment from Batty Newton on the bottom and popped up the coloured images with 3D foam squares. There was still place when I filled the scene with the bats so I die cut the Trick or treat sentiment from the Halloween Trio die set 3 times, layered them on top of each other for more dimension and adhered it to the empty spot.

I finished the card with a black glaze pen on the eyes and glossy accents on the noses and the little boards the critters are holding. I also used my Tonic Nuvo clear Shimmer pen on the wings and the little ghost. So cute!

I hope you enjoyed today’s “spooky” inspiration and will return soon for more fun projects. Take care and see you soon.

Zsofi

One thought on “Trick or treat? – Newton’s Nook Designs

Leave a comment